Start at the beginning…and when you get to the end Stop!

Well, this is my first post.  As of right this second I have a small headache, I’m cold and my ankle is hurting a little bit more today than it did yesterday (after re-reading through this part I realize now that I’m headache free and warm and toasty).  I’ll update you on the ankle part.  On 10/3/2010 my roller derby team had a bout against a local team here in South Florida and during said bout I broke my ankle.  I broke 2 bones in 3 different places.  It was pretty traumatic for me, it was quite the memorable moment for me to look at my foot with a heavy skate on it, slightly sideways and drooping down a little.  I was yelling pretty loud but there was a reason for it other than the obvious, my ankle is broken!  The last time I was at that rink, practicing with the same gals, I had hyper-extended my knee and as I fell to the floor thinking that my roller derby days were over because I “heard/felt the pop” I was told, hey, scootch out of the way, you don’t want them to run you over…I remember thinking, what?  Arent they supposed to take a knee for me, but what eves! So this time when i went down I literally thought to myself, these bitches are taking a dang knee for this one!  So I bellowed so loud because, well, I was genuinely freaked and in pain, I mean, my ankle was broken, so very broken, but I wanted to get my point across to these girls that I wasnt moving off the track this time!  Well, as I lay there muttering the words “my ankle is wrong” to the gals around me I remember thinking that this is just great…what a good job we were doing, the best bout we’ve ever had and who has to go and screw it all up?  Me that’s who!  So the EMT’s arrive and whisk me away to the local hospital where I’m told, yeah, your ankle is broken but the best thing for you to do is to go home and schedule surgery with an Orthopedic tomorrow.  I was dumbfounded.  You mean, you want to send me home, WITH A BROKEN ANKLE?!  Now, this is in fact how they do it, but I figured that I would be admitted until the next day or 2 until they worked on my foot, but as it turns out that was not the best idea, and really, it wasnt!  I was over an hour away from home so I might as well find a good ortho there, and why rack up a medical bill staying in the hospital when they can splint me up and I can just stay home!  I ended up seeing an ortho at a medical center closer to home, worked a little that week and had surgery on 10/11.  The week after surgery was a mother of a week, pain like crazy but after a few days it was tolerable and I was again talking about Derby’ing.  I got my cast off on 10/27 and I start PT on 11/17 but I really hope to go to PT and have the PT people say, OH MY GOODNESS, you are so far along with getting better!!  I’ve been working my ankle out, slowly, not too much too soon, but I really want to get to walking again soon!  I’m really hoping by Thanksgiving, because that would just be wonderful.  Well, that was my ankle thing.  Cast in my blog for me to remember forever!  The best and worst part about when it happened was that instead of finishing out the game the girls decided to go to the hospital with me.  Even though I didn’t even get to see all of them they came to be with me.  I hate them for it, but I love em for it too!  🙂

About internjessica

My name is Jessica Pac but you might know me as Intern Jessica from The Radio Dan show, or possibly as Pac Bauer, roller girl extraordinaire from The Palm Beach Rollergirls! I’m 31 in 2010 (if this blog is years and years old you do the math) and I live in beautiful Boca Raton Florida (no, I’ve yet to run into Seinfeld’s parents although I just might be dating myself with that comment!) I have an amazing husband, Dan, and a beautiful step-daughter, Alexa. I have 2 sisters, Rebecca is 4+ years younger than me, she lives about 2 hours away and Stephanie is 5+ years younger than me and she lives just about ½ hour away. She has 2 sons, my nephews, Nicky and Elliott. Nicky has autism and is progressing wonderfully as the years go by and Elliott is a wonderful younger brother! We have a cat named Charlie who is a gray tuxedo cat and for some reason I talk about him way more than I think I should, although I can’t imagine I would write a lot about him. I have a day job that I love with Waste Management and if I’m there forever I wouldn’t mind not one bit. I love going to movies and I love watching television shows. My mother passed away from brain cancer when I was 15 years old. She was a super strong super short super cool lady and I always wonder about how it would have been to have her in my life. As I mentioned before, I’m on The Radio Dan Show with my husband and I hope that this is something that we continue to do for years to come. I also play Roller Derby for a league here in Palm Beach County and although I’m nursing a broken ankle I really hope to continue to do it in the future! I’m orig from NY just like a lot of people here in Florida and I think that sums me up for now. I’m beginning this blog Nov 2010 and I hope to be able to keep up with it because I think that blogging is a wonderful way to remember things that you just don’t realize that you’ll forget. I know because I kept a blog before and sometimes when I read back through it I can’t help but be amazed about the things we’ve done and seen together throughout our lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Start at the beginning…and when you get to the end Stop!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

